Welcome to the Model’s Workshop of Secondlife

Posted on Updated on

Hi.  I’m Monica Balut, a SecondLife model and founder of the Model’s Workshop.  I love modeling in SL and have been at it since April 2008.  Having absolutely no RL modeling experience, this has been one of the hardest things I have attempted in SL.  First there’s so much to learn.  Then once you become competent, you have to convince potential employers to hire you over the hundreds of other models applying for the same job.  It seems like every girl and her aunt wants to be a SL model.  But despite many let downs, I persist and continue to love it as much as the first day.

I firmly believe that life is not worth living unless I can learn something new each day.  But, after graduating from three SL modeling academies, I felt I had been schooled out.  I felt that there was still so much to learn but regular schools had little more to offer me.  I got my share of experience and certainly learned my own tricks the hard way.  But I found that often just sharing ideas with friends gave me information and tips that were invaluable.  Then it occurred to me one day, why not formalize that concept into a group of friends all sharing their information.  Individually we all have limited knowledge, but collectively we have a wealth of information.  After toying with the idea and mentioning it to a few friends, I decided to get it going after the holidays.

After a conversation with Leslie Trebuchet about a month ago, I formed the SL group Model’s Workshop with the following charter: The Model’s Workshop is a group of professional SL models dedicated to helping each other be the best they can be.  It’s goal is to provide an atmosphere where group members are encouraged to share their knowledge, information and skills to help each other grow as models.  Projects may include regular workshops, development of a resource library, holding mock shows.

We held our first workshop led by my friend Melissa Jensen on February 5th.  It was dedicated to hair.  Fourteen people attended.  We shared landmarks of our favorite hair stores and compared our favorite styles.  The enthusiasm was incredible.  Melissa didn’t have to do much leading.  You could barely get a word in edgewise.  Can you imagine getting 14 women together to talk about hair?

At the end of the first meeting, the group decided to talk about skins next.  Herradura Baar who had attended the first meeting agreed to host this workshop which was held on February 12th.  This time there were 27 people in attendance and we even managed to crash the sim at the end!  The format was similar with similar enthusiasm.  By the end of the day, group membership had risen to 38.

The enthusiasm for these workshops is beyond my wildest dreams!  It shows the passion that people have for this work and how much more we all want to learn.  I continue to be impressed with the wealth of truly talented people in SL.

Where are we going to go from here?  Our third workshop will be on February 19th on shapes, again led by Herradura Baar.  I have ideas for other workshops including:
Animations: Various types, where to buy, factors to consider.
Runway tricks
Shoes
Jewelry: stores that feature copy jewely as well as no copy
Most fashionable clothing stores
Accessories
Eyes
Eyelashes
Nails
Handbags
Hats
Shapes – Making your own
Tips for getting selected in a casting
Resumes and portfolios

I would like to see the group develop and manage lists of resources that would be available to members of the group.  We could hold a runway diva competition where participants judge and vote on the most skilled routine.  We could organize and put on a real show.  Someone suggested creating a blog where people could share ideas (and hence this).  Someone suggested operating a job tip system.  The ideas are limitless.  I’m sure the group will come up with many more.

If this group is to succeed, it will be as a group effort.  This is not about Monica Balut.  It’s about the collective wisdom and power of a group of passionate people.  Even after two weeks of operation, I’m quickly seeing that there is far more to do than I can possibly manage alone.  I’m going to need some help if this is to succeed.

Very soon I will be holding an organizational meeting of those interested in taking more responsibility for moving this project along.  I’m hoping to be able to work with a solid core group who help guide the direction of the group and who are willing to take responsibility for various projects and tasks.

In the meantime, tell your friends about this and encourage them to join the group.  Happy modeling.  Monica Balut.

6 thoughts on “Welcome to the Model’s Workshop of Secondlife

    Leslie Trebuchet said:
    February 13, 2009 at 7:30 pm

    This is a great idea!

    Like

    Ocean Miami said:
    February 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    Monica, this was a GREAT idea by you girls and what’s even greater is the fact that you put in the effort to follow through with it. I think the great enthusiam is because we can all see that it is a pure gesture of good faith and altrusim; after all, it seems that everything costs L8000 nowadays in SL.. LOL:) I applaud you for putting this group together. I know that I, for one, am very excited about it and can’t wait for the next one. See you in a bit. OM

    Like

    Juliane Ames said:
    February 14, 2009 at 10:30 am

    Monica, as I already told I think it is a wonderful idea and I am not surprised it brings so much enthusiasm ;). As you say not only you will make this project a success but we have to work as a team. I have not much time left in my busy SL but if there is something you need help with don’t hesitate to shout. I am very sorry but I couldn’t attend last meeting, 5pm slt is way too late for my timezone. I hope I be able to come very soon, if you plan to hold European sessions :). See you soon.

    Like

    Ida Boomhauer said:
    February 14, 2009 at 10:32 am

    This is much needed in SL to encourage women to be part of the fashion industry and find out that it can be fun and fabulous !

    Like

    Nieve Thor said:
    February 15, 2009 at 8:56 am

    This really a great group. Like i keep remain myself life is a never ending learning process even you’re in SL.

    Like

    Nieve Thor said:
    February 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

    Sorry, I can’t attend the meeting. The time is clash with my RL working hours. I hope more workshop available for Europe/Australia/Asia timezone.

    Like

Leave a Reply

